About Us

What is Menter Iaith?

Menter Iaith Conwy is one of the 22 Menter Iaith working across Wales to promote and develop the Welsh language at the grassroots level.

The work of the Mentrau varies from county to county as we focus on different ways of providing opportunities for the public to use their Welsh, or to promote the language locally.

We at Menter Iaith Conwy are also lucky to share an office with several members of the Mentrau Iaith Cymru team, who drive the Mentrau Iaith network and lead on national projects.

Your Local Menter Iaith

Our Office

We at Menter Iaith Conwy work from our office in the centre of the market town Llanrwst.

We managed to purchase the town’s old HSBC building – and this is our new office.

We hope to continue to renovate the building on a floor-by-floor basis, so that more Welsh opportunities can be provided in the town. The hall on the top floor of the building is definitely an exciting project, and we’re looking forward to getting the developments started.

Our Work

As we work with different age groups and language ability, our work varies from day to day. 

To get a better idea of what we regularly provide, head over to the News & Events

Remember we are driven by ideas and the needs of the public – so we always welcome new ideas from you – contact us with your ideas and comments – or remember to pop by the office!

Opening Times

Due to the nature of our community work across the County office hours vary.

Our core hours are 9 to 5 Monday to Friday.

Staff are usually in Tuesdays, Wednesdays and Thursday but vary otherwise.

Members of the Management Board of Menter Iaith Conwy

The Menter is managed by volunteers from the community in Conwy County, and we are very grateful for their time and the great work they are doing to keep the Enterprise’s arrangements in order.

Huw Prys Jones – Chairman
Anna Prysor Jones – Secretary
Nia Owen – Treasurer
Gwennol Ellis – County Council Representative

Eirian Jones

Wyn Jones 

Eryl P Roberts

Nia Clwyd Owen

Ian Jenkins 

Annette Evans 

Rhys Dafis 

Meirion Davies – Staff